Fourth Prof. N. R. Madhava Menon SAARCLAW Mooting Competition, Law Students Conference and Judicial Colloquium

Indian round of Fourth Prof. N. R. Madhava Menon SAARCLAW Mooting Competition was held from 25th to 27th October, 2019. For the first time the competition was organised without the physical presence of our Guru, Prof. Menon. It saw an overwhelming participation from 52 teams across the country to honour and to take forward the legacy of Prof. Menon to continue moulding new generation of legal minds in the industry. The Moot proposition was based on different aspects of “Public international law and international refugee law” (Climate Refugees).

Seven qualifying teams for SAARC Round are as follows:-

1.  CMR University School of Legal Studies

2.  Faculty of Law, BHU

3.  Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram

4.  Institute of Law, Nirma University

5.  School of Law, KIIT

6.  School of Law, Christ University

7.  Symbosis Law School, Noida

8.  S.S. Jain Subodh Law College (Reserve).

The SAARC Round of the Fourth Prof. N. R. Madhava Menon SAARCLAW Mooting Competition was held from 15th to 18th February, 2019. Five sitting judges of higher courts from SAARC nations judged the Final Round.

The winners of the Fourth Prof. N.R. Madhava Menon SAARCLAW Mooting Competition were:

Winner-  Symbiosis Law School, Noida

Runner UP-  Nepal Law Campus.

The 4th SAARCLAW Students Conference was participated by 18 teams from India, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Research papers were submitted by the presenters on the theme “Law and Morality: SAARC Perspective.” The selected papers from the conference have been published in the book form titled 'Law and Morality: SAARC Perspective' (Thomson Reuters ISSBN : 9789389891300)

The Best Presenter and the Best Presenter (Runner-up) respectively were:

* Ms. Namrata Rimal, Nepal Law Campus, Nepal

* Ms. Shruthi K., Government Law College, Thiruvananthapuram